The conventional and unconventional sides of my life.

Body Image

This past week I attended an event with the theme of dressing outlandishly. Well, I didn’t have many outlandish clothes to choose from but I did   immediately think of my purple tights with horizontal black stripes. On the day of the event, I went into my closet to see what I could put together. As you can see from the photos, I found a stretchy horizontal striped shirt that I hadn’t worn in at least ten years (!).

Now, I’m not a small woman. I am definitely curvy and wear a size 14 or 16. Because of this,  in general, I avoid horizontal stripes. Despite having grown up hearing how stupid and helpless I was, how I couldn’t do anything right, how everything I do is a half-assed job, I (usually) don’t have an issue with body image ( though I had other major self-esteem issues that have mostly worked themselves out). I say usually because there are times, especially when I am clothes shopping and something looks so cute on the rack and so wrong on me, when I do feel bad about how I look. Hey, I’m still human and I think we all have that from time to time.I’ve seen how people, especially women, struggle so much with body image. Ladies, please love yourself for YOU! I know that I am not every man’s type but I’ve met so many men that love curvy women. In my experience, the pagan and BDSM communities are full of men that love ladies of all shapes and sizes. Those communities are also full of men and women that love themselves for who they are and aren’t afraid of expressing themselves. I credit getting away from the emotional abuse of my father as well as surrounding myself with such positive people in both the pagan and BDSM communities for helping me with my self-esteem issues and keeping those body image issues at bay. I love how the look I chose showed of my curves and yes, even my rolls. And, important to me, Yakko and Wakko, really enjoyed the look too!

Comments on: "Body Image" (2)

  1. I think you look totally adorable!!

Leave a Reply

