The conventional and unconventional sides of my life.

What are chakras?

Earlier this year, I began a year-long course studying the seven major chakras of the body. Chakra comes from a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel” or “disc”. They are energy centers corresponding along the spine of your body starting from the base and going up through the top of your head. The seven chakras starting from the base of the spine are:

RootLocated at the base of the spine. This chakra is related to security, survival, stability and grounding.

Sacral – Located just below the belly button. This chakra is related to passion, sexuality, pleasure and desires.

Will (or Solar Plexus) – Located above the bellow button. Have you ever had a “gut feeling”? That is where the will chakra is located. This chakra is related to power, will, and manifestation.

Heart – Located in the center of your chest(you know – your heart area!) This chakra is related to love and compassion.

Throat – Located just above the notch in your collarbone. This chakra is related to communication, self-expression, and creativity.

Third Eye (or Brow) – Located slightly above and between your eyebrows. This chakra is related to seeing, both physically and intuitively.

Crown – Located at the top or “crown” of your head. This chakra is associated with pure consciousness, the all.

Did you notice the color associations for each of the chakras? Sometimes you may see the third eye chakra is associated with indigo and the crown chakra with violet. I most often see the crown chakra associated with white (it is gray here otherwise you wouldn’t be able to read the word!)

The above overview of the chakra system is an extremely  basic overview. There are more and deeper associations with each chakra. It is possible to have excess or deficits in a particular chakra which inhibit the flow of the energy and because of this, it can manifest itself as disease (Dis-ease).

The course I am currently involved with spends six weeks on each chakra. I love to dive deeper into each chakra understanding more how various aspects of life correspond with each one. Even though we spend six weeks on each chakra, I sometimes feel that isn’t even close to enough time. I am sure I could spend large amounts of time studying the chakras. The beauty of the chakra system is that it can benefit anyone. Just knowing the basics as outlined here can help you. You can get as involved or not involved with it as you’d like.

If you wish to learn more about chakras, there are many resources online and many great books. Two of my favorite books about the chakras are by the same author, Anodea Judith. Those books are:

The Sevenfold Journey: Reclaiming Mind, Body and Spirit Through the Chakras

Wheels of Life: A User’s Guide to the Chakra System


Comments on: "What are chakras?" (2)

  1. […] Mandala Paintings In my last post I discussed the very, very basics of what chakras are. I wanted to provide a framework for the chakras before posting about a series of mixed-media […]

  2. […] I began a year-long course studying the seven major chakras of the body(See more about chakras here). We spend six weeks studying each chakra. Right now we are wrapping up the six week period of the […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: